Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering
Engineering is...

Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) champions bold, groundbreaking engineering innovation which is of global benefit to humanity.

The world’s leading award for engineers and engineering, the annual £500,000 prize promotes excellence in engineering and celebrates engineering’s visionaries. It inspires young minds to consider engineering as a career choice, and it encourages engineers to push the boundaries of what is possible.

Diverse, multifaceted, and continually evolving, engineering helps create solutions to global challenges and improves billions of lives. Engineers have enabled us to work together across the planet, explore the smallest cells and the most distant stars, and navigate our way through the world.

Previous recipients of the QEPrize are: Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Marc Andreessen, and Sir Tim Berners-Lee for the Internet and World Wide Web in 2013; Dr Robert Langer for controlled release large molecule drug delivery in 2015; Eric Fossum, George Smith, Nobukazu Teranishi, and Michael Tompsett for digital imaging sensors in 2017; and Dr Bradford Parkinson, Professor James Spilker, Jr, Hugo Fruehauf, and Richard Schwartz for the Global Positioning System in 2019.

The QEPrize is administered by the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation and funded by generous support from the following corporate donors: BAE Systems plc, BP plc, GlaxoSmithKline, Hitachi, Ltd., Jaguar Land Rover, National Grid plc, Nissan Motor Corporation, Shell UK Ltd, Siemens UK, Sony, Tata Steel Europe, Tata Consultancy Services, and Toshiba.