About The Awards

The Charity Film Awards is one of the largest charity events of the year, with a ceremony, entertainment and drinks in March at the ODEON Luxe cinema in Leicester Square. The event draws in hundreds of entrants, from whom the finalists gain millions more views as a result of the event. 

Each year the numbers rise higher, and in 2024 we’re expecting even better results.

Entry Categories

Charities by Income Bracket

Entries to the Charity Film Awards are categorised based on the Charity Commission’s turnover brackets for income in the last financial year. This creates a level playing field so smaller organisations are just as likely to receive an award as the larger, more established ones.


Long-form Films

There are additional categories for long-form films that last over five minutes – these are divided into charities with an income of under £5 million and over £5 million.


Corporate Cause

Companies with a Corporate Social Responsibility initiative can also enter the awards. Whether it’s an anti-racism campaign or an environmental initiative, corporate cause-based films are celebrated in the awards to encourage companies to drive positive change.

International Impact Category

Charities and corporate initiatives from outside the UK can also enter the awards via the International Impact Category.


The Awards Stages

1. Entries open

The Charity Film Awards is open to entries for six weeks.

2. Voting Round One

Once entries close, charities have four weeks to gain votes on their films. The charities with the largest number of votes make it onto the shortlist and become finalists.

3. Judges’ Selection Period

Our panel of expert judges choose the bronze, silver and gold winners from each category. However, as well as the judges’ selection, there is also the chance to win a ‘People’s Choice’ award for each category, based on the highest number of votes – this is also broken down by turnover and has bronze, silver, and gold winners.

4. Voting Round Two

There is a second voting round for the public to vote on the People’s Choice winners, also lasting four weeks, before the ceremony in March.

5. The Awards Ceremony

Finally, the awards ceremony offers entrants a chance to celebrate their hard work and achievements.

Award Categories

Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards

Entrants from each turnover bracket get the chance of winning a gold, silver or bronze award for their film in the People’s Choice or films selected by the judge.

People’s Choice

The most popular films in the public voting rounds receive People’s Choice awards.

CFA23 CC ASDA Tickled Pink 2

Best Performing Films

The best-performing films from the judges’ pick, as well as the People’s Choice award, receive ‘Charity Film of the Year’ and ‘People’s Choice Film of the Year’.

We’re here to help you every step of the way. If you have any queries, email: [email protected].

CFA23 Longform 20 M Action Aid International